Cropping images: how far should you go?

There is a long established argument that it is better to use the full frame image rather than crop.  This means initial composition and subject framing has to be very accurate . Sometimes though, it is just not possible to get in close enough or step back far enough to grab the image you see in your mind.  Here we see a shot taken using the brilliant Fuji XF 35mm lens.

balcony working

balcony working

And here is the shot I saw in my minds eye.

working from home

working from home

One thought on “Cropping images: how far should you go?

  1. Hi, Drew! Interesting post! I love square images so cropping is an important part of my workflow. I use cropping to improve composition or to crop out unwanted or unsightly bits. Sometimes I use 1:1 capture when I want to really test my composition skills. My thought is that cropping is an important tool for creative imaging.
    Hope all’s well in your part of the world. Best wishes, Tony

    Like

Comments are closed.