Fuji XF 35mm 1.4 versus Pentax SMC 50mm 1.7 Does Modern vanquish vintage?

I really like being able to use some of my lovely vintage lenses on the Fuji X system. Set to manual focus both the XT1 and XE2 are incredibly simple to focus especially with such a large magnification window available. The [old]Fuji XF35 mm is acknowledged to be one of the best Fujinon lenses, crisp, clear, tight with great colour rendition. My forty year old manual focus Pentax 50mm 1.7 lens was also a winner in it’s day. Beautifully made, solid, smooth as silk and tiny. A pretty good performer too, for a standard lens. So for fun I have tried a low light test, natural light, both  lenses wide open, shutter speed 125 which I figured would be fast enough to outpace camera shake.  I focussed the Pentax manually on my XE2 through the viewfinder using split screen manual focus assist. This is because I have a slight feeling that up close [and wide open] focus peaking sometimes is fraction out.  with the Xf 35mm I switched to single focus and let the camera do it’s thing. Bang on immediate focus lock. No problem. I used classic chrome, sharpening set to +1, colour set to +1 and noise reduction set to -2.  So here are the two images. Looking at exif  data the Pentax fired at 4000 ISO and the Fuji at 500 so this, of course,  made the Pentax photo appear noisier so  I cleaned up both a little in Lightroom.  The full frame equivalent extra 20mm or so does make a difference to the compression though the 35mm lens focused much closer.  Out of focus background  and foreground looks pretty good to me on both. So as usual and unsurprisingly which image is best is down to personal opinion.. Maybe a draw..

Fujinon XF35mm 1.4

Fujinon XF35mm 1.4

Pentax SMC 50mm 1.7

Pentax SMC 50mm 1.7

